Guest Teaching

To Sjur Bjærke and Dan Styffe and their wonderful students in Oslo.

I prefer to call it guest teaching: teaching away from home. One of the reasons I like to do guest teaching is that I can say the same things I say to my students over and over again yet for my new audiences those things sound fresh and new. I have often asked myself what I like about this situation of guest teaching and what about it is so different from the regular teaching at The Jerusalem Academy. Basically the same types of students exist everywhere, don’t they? I have just done the same thing I hated when my teachers did to me: I categorized the students. Some teachers categorized the students by how talented they seemed to be. Other teachers categorized us by how hard we worked and some valued us according to our manners and discipline. I, for example, was categorized as a troublemaker, although a fairly smart guy and I also had the honor of being under the category of: “He is a could do more-er”.

Well, I look at students in a different way and maybe, if my teachers had looked at me this way, I not only could have but actually would have done more.

I always want to find out what motivates the student. Is it pure learning? Is it her life goal to become a professional? Is it overcoming technical challenges that drives him? Maybe it is the wish for fame and glory? I have students who love the stage and live for being on stage and students who are extremely expressive but despise the stage. Some students would give anything to discover a new piece of music while others would only play the most standard pieces. Some are motivated by competition and some are ruined by competition. When I understand what motivates the student, I can help him better and I can also make sure that he or she understands what motivates them. Once we know that, we can explore new opportunities and we can explore if it is possible to be motivated by other things as well, things we never thought about. In this respect, the difference between being a guest teacher and being with my regular students is that as a guest teacher I have very little time to find out what motivates the student. Sometimes the right answer will come towards the end of the lesson, sometimes after the lesson when I am long gone, and sometimes not at all. Still, I love guest teaching for those moments when I sometimes manage to show a student or two something that has to do with their motivation, something which is not about the “how to play” but about the “why to play”. Nothing needs to be said anymore. Our faces show it all.
__________________________________________________________________
If you would like to read more about those subjects I welcome you to visit my website at
www.DriveADoubleBass.com

You can also contact me at klinghoffer@jamd.ac.il

Also, if you have any ideas for things that you would like me to discuss in future posts, please write to me.

Michael
__________________________________________________________________
Sjur Bjærke and Dan Styffe teach at Barratt Due Institute of Music and at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo. Thank you both so much!

This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Teaching

  1. Michael G says:

    After studying with many teachers, “guest studying” became one of my favorite things.
    What i mean is that studying the very same topic with 10 absolutely different teachers shows all sides of it. Especially when teacher don’t have enough time to build his “Party line” in student he gives the very essence (or at least i see it as such if i’m lucky enough to get it) of his view. For example i know that in jazz sax players can teach me some amazing bass lines. Sometimes even better then the bassists. And drummers can teach me some amazing rhythm games in my playing no one else can, while guitarists can show some amazing tech exercises and piano players some ear training no one else is capable of… All this relatively to me being a performer, gives a great variety of choices to choose and use for myself.

Leave a Reply

